By: MX Sports

HURRICANE MILLS, Tenn. (Aug. 3, 2016) – The 2016 Rocky Mountain ATV/MC AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship, presented by AMSOIL, hosted the second day of racing at the historic Loretta Lynn Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tenn. After getting off to a delayed start due to rain yesterday, the day was jam-packed with the hottest racing action in the world as the fastest amateur racers continued their quest for a national title.Sean Cantrell Lorettas Day 2 2016

A rough and rutted track laid the groundwork for a great race in the 250 A division. Sean Cantrell jumped out to the early lead, but it did not take long for Bradley Taft to make the pass. Taft felt little-to-no pressure the entire moto, where Cantrell finished behind him in second and Egan Mastin in third. While he was out of contention for a podium finish, Chase Sexton put on a charge during the latter half of the race, which forecast the future fight for the title in the second and third motos.

John Grewe produced a more-than-impressive ride in the Masters 50+ class, where he crossed the line more than 57 seconds ahead of his competition. The 85 (9-12) division was dominated by Maximus Vohland, but at the conclusion of the 20-minute moto it was Jett Reynolds who reigned victorious.

The 250 B Limited class vaulted out of the gate, but the racing action quickly subsided, with the top three contenders staying the same distance apart throughout the race. Mitchell Falk, Max Markolf and Dylan Walsh made up the podium.

Once the gate dropped at the start of moto one for the Girls Sr. class, Jamie Astudillo reached the holeshot line first, but not without a little company. Jazzmyn Canfield quickly stole the lead, but the lead changed once again on the third lap when Jordan Jarvis moved into first. With a more than 18-second lead, Jarvis earned her second victory of the AMA Amateur Nationals.

Lorettas Day 2 2016The inaugural 250 All-Star A/B 14+ gate was full of up-and-coming talent, but James Anderson Jr. out shined them all when he earned the Bell Helmets Holeshot Award. Anderson felt immediate pressure from Jerry Robin as the two had a three-lap battle until Anderson tipped over in a turn, allowing Robin to move into first. As the moto wore on the hot and humid conditions began to take a toll on Robin, and Brandon Gourley only continued to charge hard and eventually take the lead along with the win. Robin and Gordon Keck followed in second and third. Robin also competed earlier in the day in the 250 A class where he also scored a top-10 finish.

Dilan Schwartz rode his own race in Mini Sr. 1 (12-13) and took home the Moto 1 win, with Hunter Yoder’s 65 (7-11) moto going much the same way when he crossed the finish line first. John Grewe continued his dominance as he added a Senior 40+ class win to his resume.

After a rough start to his race week, Garrett Marchbanks was finally able to put it all together in the Schoolboy 2 (13-16) B/C race, where he ran virtually untouched. Jordan Bailey crossed the line in second with a 35-second gap on Tanner Stack in third.

The future stars of motocross took to the track for their first motos at the Loretta Lynn Ranch and produced some of the best racing since the kickoff of the 35th annual event. Evan Woody completed the 51cc (7-8) Limited class in seventh, but not before he put up a back-and-forth for the lead with Jadon Slusher and Jaden Palmer. After multiple tip-overs between the leaders, it was Palmer who prevailed against the conditions to take the victory.

After a quick rain shower the 250 C division faced possibly some of the worst track conditions of the day. Antonio Calavano rode a flawless race and earned the gold medal. Immediately after the 250 C class the second motos began with College (16-24) where Samuel Redman used his mud racing experience to his advantage and led every lap from start to finish.

The elite 250 B class saw a new face at the podium with Garrett Marchbanks taking the win. However, the moto one winner of Jordan Bailey rode a consistent race for second and Jake Masterpool rounded out the overall podium after a depressing DNF took him out of the first moto.

Racing action resumes Thursday, Aug. 4, and RacerTV continues with live streaming coverage beginning at 9 a.m. ET/8 a.m. CT. Wednesday’s archived coverage is now available on To view the racing action from day two, please click here. Complete results from the 2016 AMA Amateur National can be found here.

The 35th Annual Rocky Mountain ATV/MC AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship presented by AMSOIL is taking place now through Aug. 6 at the Loretta Lynn Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tenn.

Related Posts