By: MX Sports

HURRICANE MILLS, Tenn. (Aug. 5, 2016) – The 35th Annual Rocky Mountain ATV/MC AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship, presented by AMSOIL, crowned the first 21 National Champions on Friday as the second-to-last day of racing took place in Hurricane Mills, Tenn. The historic Loretta Lynn Ranch presented near-perfect race conditions with the typical hot and humid conditions that the AMA Amateur National is known for.Bradley Taft Loretta's Day 4

The fourth day of racing kicked off with the remainder of the second motos. In the 65 (7-11) division Matthew LeBlanc took home the moto win and control of the championship standings. After 32nd place in the first moto, Cole Harley came back strong to claim the 250 C victory.

After landing just short of the first moto win in the Schoolboy 2 (13-16) division, Jordan Bailey had his eyes set on the top spot of the box. After grabbing the holeshot, Bailey continued to ride smoothly and produced some of the fastest lap times of the week. With his biggest competition of Garrett Marchbanks right on his rear, Bailey maintained his focus all the way to the finish. Marchbanks and Tanner Stack began to fade on the fourth lap, but held their positions for second and third.

The first National title of 2016 was presented to Ryan Surratt in the College (16-24) class after his trio of podium finishes, while Jett Reynolds earned his seventh National Championship. Robbie Reynard was well on his way to earning the National Championship on a 125 two-stroke until his bike blew up on the last lap. Michael Stryker’s impressive performance throughout the week set him up to steal the championship away in the highly contested Junior 25+ class.

The 250 A division was anything but predictable. Top rider Chase Sexton was shuffled back in the pack and sat in the 24th position at the conclusion of the first lap. As Sexton was working his way through the pack he faced yet another issue when he washed out and fell right by the finish line. Fortunately for Sexton he only lost one position and was hard-charging once he recovered and managed to pass three competitors in only two turns, but at the end of the moto Sexton’s hard charge wasn’t enough to top Bradley Taft’s consistency. Taft claimed the highly coveted 250 A championship with a 1-2-1 moto score.

Perhaps one of the best races of the day was in the Senior 45+ class between Terry Bostard and Jay Wagner. Bostard jumped out to the early lead, but his success would not last long when Wagner block-passed him right before the famed 10 Commandments. Bostard struggled to get his bike started and, by the time he took off, he was outside the top 20. With only laps remaining, Bostard had not only worked his way into a podium position but had his eyes set on Wagner, who was just a mere bike length away. Bostard put on a last-minute charge to pass Wagner in the same exact turn he was taken out in, earning the National Championship.

Chase Sexton Lorettta's Day 4With a total of four different leaders and multiple lead changes the 250 B class was nothing short of exciting. With no surprise, Jordan Bailey was the front-runner as soon as the gate dropped, but Mitchell Falk launched over the roller and moved into the lead on the second lap. Before he knew it Falk was accompanied by Dylan Walsh. The duo came together and Falk seemed to have some issues from the run-in as the moto wore on. Bailey soon made a reappearance and exchanged the lead with Walsh. While the focus remained on the battle for the lead Jake Masterpool was creeping toward a podium finish, and before anyone noticed Masterpool had blasted right by to earn the moto win. Bailey continued riding smart to earn a podium, which vaulted him to the top to claim the National Championship.

The esteemed Open Pro Sport riders competed in their second moto, where Sean Cantrell grabbed the Bell Helmets Holeshot Award. His biggest competition, Chase Sexton, disappeared after endo-ing over the tunnel jump. Bradley Taft was nowhere to be found on the first lap where he sat outside the top 30. Sexton quickly returned to the front after his crash. Cantrell rode a solid race and held off Sexton for a total of five laps until Sexton made the pass and continued to lead the way to the checkered flag. Cantrell and Lorenzo Locurcio rounded out the second moto podium.

The fastest ladies in motocross took to the track for their third and final moto to end the day. After a tough first two motos Kylie Fasnacht returned to her winning ways, but Brandy Richards played it safe to earn the Women’s All-Star (16+) title and Jordan Jarvis reigned victorious as the Women 14+ class champion.

The third and final moto racing action resumes tomorrow, Saturday, Aug. 6, and RacerTV continues with live streaming coverage beginning at 8:30 a.m. ET/7:30 a.m. CT. Wednesday’s archived coverage is now available on To view the racing action from day two please click here. Complete results from the 2016 AMA Amateur National can be found here.

Related Posts