By: ATV Motocross

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. (Oct. 11, 2016) – The ProX ATV Motocross National Championship (ATVMX) presented by CST Tires, an AMA National Championship, traveled to Sandusky, Ohio this past weekend, Oct. 8, for the annual awards banquet. In addition to the coveted AMA Pro ATV championship, there were 39 National Championships and 12 specialty awards bestowed upon completion of the 2016 season.

The AMA Pro Rookie of the Year Award identifies the first-year professional rider who shows the most improvement as they make their professional debut. Wes Lewis took home this prestigious award after his 11th-place finish in the AMA Pro division, along with fifth overall in the Pro-Am ranks.chad wienen and joel hetrick 2016

Nathan Hibbs, mechanic for five-time AMA Pro ATV Champion Chad Wienen, was recognized as the Mechanic of the Year. Hibbs was able to once again vault Wienen to the top with his extensive skill set, never once suffering from an unfinished race. In addition to finishing in the runner-up position in the Pro ATV Motocross Championship, Joel Hetrick also claimed the SSi Decals Holeshot Award and tied with defending champion Wienen for the Top Qualifier Award.

CST Tires was presented the sponsor of the year award, after their bold decision to step up as the series presenting sponsor. Their support expanded to both the professional and amateur racers where their on-site display traveled to each ATVMX round.

The Award of Media Excellence recognizes the individual who went above and beyond throughout the entire season in regards to photography, videography, press or social media. Racer TV’s technical director and systems manager, Dan Reinhart, was the honoree this year for his dedication to an unprecedented amount of live streaming coverage.

The Manufacturer’s Cup was awarded to American Honda Motor Corporation for claiming the most wins over any other manufacturer in the professional division.

The Team of the Year Award is based on the team that displays not only exceptional results on the track, but also carries a positive demeanor off the track. In the end it was JB Racing who took home this prestigious award due to their commitment to the professional and amateur ranks, along with their devotion to offering medical attention at each round.

Each year MX Sports and the ATVPG recognizes those lives that were cut short, and this year father of ATVMX competitor Travis Wotring, Steve Wotring, was remembered for his contagious positive spirit he always had at the races. Wotring’s family and friends were presented a special award in his memory.

MX Sports and the ATVPG wishes to thank everyone who participated in the 2016 ProX ATV Motocross National Championship, and congratulates all of our 2016 Champions on their accomplishments. Please see below for the full list of class champions and specialty award winners.

2016 ProX ATV Motocross Champions

AMA Pro Chad Wienen Galena, Ill.
Pro-Am Brett Musick Verdunville, W.Va.
Pro Sport Cole Sepesi Milan, Mich.
WMX Megan Shepherd Marion, Ohio
Open B Noah Mickelson Eyota, Minn.
Open C Rian Smittle Lawrence, Pa.
Production A Alan Myers Sewell, N.J.
Production B Logan Stanfield Peru, Ind.
Production C Rian Smittle Lawrence, Pa.
450 A Alan Myers Sewell, N.J.
450 B Noah Mickelson Eyota, Minn.
450 C Rian Smittle Lawrence, Pa.
450 B/C Limited Devon Kindrick Earlysville, Va.
Junior 25+ Lucas Lamons Bulls Gap, Tenn.
Veteran 30+ James Bank Canada
Veteran 30+ C Sebastian Foche Argentina
Women 30+ Michelle Jenkins Warren, Ohio
Senior 40+ Robert Salinas Harlingen, Texas
Senior 40+ B/C Daniel Decoteau Telford, Pa.
College (16-24) Cody Ford Springtown, Texas
Schoolboy Sr. (14-17) Troy Hill Beaverdam, Va.
Schoolboy Jr. (13-15) Brandon Hoag Kennard, Neb.
Schoolgirl (13-17) Niamh Shaw Bowling Green, Ky.
Youth All-Star (13-15) Troy Hill Beaverdam, Va.
Super Mini (12-15) Trevor Thatcher Swanton, Ohio
Girls (8-13) Alyssa Raynes Hometown, W.Va.
125 (8-15) Braden Shiamone Williamsburg, Va.
90 Open Sr. (12-15) Trevor Thatcher Swanton, Ohio
90 Open Jr. (8-11) Parker Roahrig Nashport, Ohio
90 Automatic Sr. (12-15) Corey Edwards Spring Grove, Va.
90 Automatic Jr. (8-11) Bryson Slagle Gordonsville, Tenn.
90 Shifter (12-15) Zack Decker Zionsville, Pa.
90 Shifter (8-11) Parker Roahrig Nashport, Ohio
70 Open (6-11) Mason Jackson Battle Creek, Mich.
70 Automatic (6-11) Bryson Slagle Gordonsville, Tenn.
70 Shifter (6-11) Mason Jackson Battle Creek, Mich.
50 Open (5-8) Noah Arnal Vermilion, Ohio
50 CVT (5-8) Noah Arnal Vermilion, Ohio
50 Single Speed (4-8) Kolby Tucker Lebanon, Ky.
50 Semi Stock (4-8) Cash Harsche Burleson, Texas


Specialty Award Winners

Manufacturers Cup American Honda Motor Co.
Sponsor of the Year CST Tires
Team of the Year JB Racing
Youth Rider of the Year Troy Hill Beaverdam, Va.
AMA Pro Rookie of the Year Wes Lewis Aliquippa, Pa.
Amateur Rider of the Year Alan Myers Sewell, N.J.
Award of Media Excellence Racer TV – Dan Reinhart Morgantown, W.Va.
In Memorium Steven Wotring Zionsville, Pa.
AMA Pro ATV Champion Mechanic Nathan Hibbs Windsor, Mo. Top Qualifier Chad Wienen Galena, Ind. Top Qualifier Joel Hetrick Seneca, Pa.
SSI Decals Holeshot Joel Hetrick Seneca, Pa.
Gary Denton Cup Chad Wienen Galena, Ill.

The 2017 ProX ATV Motocross National Championship season kicks off Tuesday, March 14, at the popular Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Fla., for the third annual FLY Racing ATV Supercross.

Related Posts