By: USAC Racing

Kyle Cummins of Princeton, Ind. emerged as the winner of USAC’s “Winter Dirt Games VII” last week and takes an 18-point lead over Thomas Meseraull into round four of the USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship April 2 at the Lawrenceburg (Ind.) Speedway.

Cummins finished on the podium on all three nights at Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Fla. He was second behind Bryan Clauson Thursday and third behind Robert Ballou Friday and Thomas Meseraull Saturday.

Cummins continues to seek his initial USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship victory at Lawrenceburg, a track where he failed to post a “top-10” in three 2015 appearances (11th, 20th and 22nd).Meseraull Winter Dirt Games

Clauson, of Noblesville, Ind., passed Chase Stockon on lap eight Thursday and led the final 23 laps in his B & H Contractors/Cancer Treatment Centers of America Spike/Stanton Mopar. Cummins was second ahead of Meseraull, Max McGhee and Chad Boespflug.

Ballou, of Rocklin, Calif., led all 30 laps of Friday’s race in his MPHG Promotions/Blakesley’s Auto Maxim/Ott to beat Brady Bacon, Cummins, Clauson and Dave Darland.

Meseraull, of San Jose, Calif., emerged as the winner of Saturday’s 30-lapper after tire woes beset numerous teams, including race leaders in the closing laps. The race featured five different leaders with seven lead changes, and Meseraull’s victory came as leaders McGhee and Grant encountered tire problems in the final two laps. Chris Windom ended up second at the checkered flag behind Meseraull’s Marion Underground Construction/Zeller Construction DRC/Dynotech. Cummins, Stockon and Grant rounded out the top-five.

McGhee earned a pair of ProSource fast qualifier awards, while Meseraull was Saturday’s ProSource winner.

Brady Short, Clauson and Jon Stanbrough claimed KSE Racing Products Hard Charger awards.

Additional contingency award winners included the following: Schroeder/Pac Springs 3rd Place (Meseraull, Cummins-2), Schoenfeld Headers 5th Place (Boespflug, Darland, Grant), Schroeder/Pac Springs 8th Place (Bacon, Windom, Stanbrough), Top Maxim Finisher (McGhee, Ballou, Windom), and Wilwood Brake Systems Passing Master (Clauson).

Heat race winners were also sponsored by Simpson Race Products, Competition Suspension, Benic Enterprises and Indy Race Parts, and they included Shane Cottle (2), Bacon (2), Ballou, Stanbrough, McGhee, Clauson, Brady Short, Cummins, Grant and Chad Boespflug.

Related Posts