SPRINGVILLE, Ind. (April 27, 2015) – Factory FMF/KTM’s Kailub Russell extended his XC1 Pro Bike class win streak to five on Sunday at round five of the 2015 AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country presented by Maxxis, an AMA National Championship. Russell now sits third on the all-time Bike Wins list in GNCC Racing after his 27th career win this weekend, surpassing Ed Lojak, who claimed 26 wins through his storied career.

N-Fab AmPro Yamaha’s Jordan Ashburn took the $250 All Balls Racing Holeshot Award with N-Fab thad duvall 3rd springville 15AmPro Yamaha’s Grant Baylor and Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Josh Strang tailing behind. Rocky Mountain ATV*MC KR4/FAR Race Team’s Thad DuVall quickly made his way into the lead from his mid-pack start on lap one.

Meanwhile, Russell had to work his way through the pack to take over the lead after crashing in the second turn. He managed to take the lead on lap four, but continued to battle wheel-to-wheel with Baylor throughout the entire three-hour race.

Ashburn, along with AirGroup/Rockstar Energy/Husqvarna’s Ryan Sipes, JCR Honda’s Chris Bach and Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Andrew DeLong, all challenged the lead pack through the early portions of the race before falling behind, leaving them in a four-way battle among themselves.

Strang was challenged by the rough and rutted terrain and came away with a fourth-place finish ahead of Ashburn, who rounded out the top five.

In XC2 Pro Bike Lites, Jason Thomas maintained the points lead after five rounds followed by XC2 class rookie, Craig DeLong, AMSOIL/RideMPS.com’s Layne Michael, Trevor Bollinger and Ricky Russell.

gnccatv springville 15In XC1 Pro ATV racing, for the first time since the 2013 Gusher GNCC, Chris Bithell stood in the center of the podium after rainy conditions made for a tough and slick course. Team Maxxis/FLY/Yamaha’s Chris Borich put together another solid performance, capturing second overall ahead of JMR/ATVRiders.com’s Jarrod McClure, who rounded out the podium in third.

In the XC2 Pro ATV class, N-Fab/AmPro Yamaha/Maxxis/Lonestar’s Cole Richardson lead wire-to-wire to claim the class victory ahead of RYCO Racing’s Cody Collier and Honda’s Martin Christofferson. Richardson remains undefeated in the 2015 season and continues to hold the XC2 Pro Am points lead ahead of Martin Christofferson and Cody Collier.

The 2015 AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country Series resumes May 9-10 with the Dunlop Tomahawk GNCC in Odessa, N.Y. For more information on the series, visit www.gnccracing.com.

Related Posts